A Simple Promise

Regardless of what happens in this country as we move in to this new era, I want all of my friends to know one thing: I support you. If you are Asian, Black, Latino, or White: I support you. If you are a man or a woman: I support you. If you are Gay, Straight, or Trans: I support you. If you are conservative or liberal: I support you. If you are Agnostic, Atheist, Christian, Hindu, Jewish, Muslim, or Sikh: I support you. Whether you voted for Clinton, Johnson, Stein, or Trump: I support you. I will always support you.

We may agree at times and we may disagree. But that’s life. A life lived in an echo chamber or a hall of mirrors is not a life worth living. Experience dissent. Experience disagreement. Experience difference. Open your mind to paths different from your own. Don’t reject them. Always seek enlightenment. Always seek understanding.

Although I may disagree with much of what President Trump has espoused over the course of his campaign, I wish him luck. I hope that he will be a President to all Americans and I hope that he will assuage many of the fears that are present amongst the people of this country. But I also vow that I will stand up for what I believe in. I will not be silent if the situation demands commentary. I will resist if the situation demands it. We must give the President the chance to succeed but we needn’t accept everything that he does.

America will live on. The dream is not dead. As long as you believe in her, she will survive.

Leave a Reply

